Fire Department

The Morgantown Fire Department is comprised of 61 sworn members and one civilian Administrative Assistant. The Administrative side of the department consists of the Fire Chief, Fire Marshal and Operations Captain.

Operations Division

The Operations Division consists of 54 personnel and is responsible for all aspects of emergency response. The Operations Division is divided into three crews, each comprised of eleven firefighters, three lieutenants and a division captain.

Training Division

The Training Division is under the direction of the department's Operations Captain. This division is responsible for training of all departmental personnel. They are an active partner with West Virginia University Fire Service Extension, RESA 7, the West Virginia State Apprenticeship Training Board and other groups dedicated to fire training.

Fire Marshal's Division

The Fire Marshal's Division consists of the Fire Marshal and three deputy fire marshals, who are responsible for:
  • Inspection of buildings for compliance with local and state fire codes
  • Review of building plans, working with contractors and business owners in the areas of fire and life safety
  • Handling complaints and investigations concerning life safety violations
  • Enforcement of occupancy limits
  • Investigating the cause and origin of fires within the City
  • Conducting criminal investigations of fires determined to be arson
  • Public education services conducted by the Fire Prevention Coordinator

Related Documents

Fire Department Agility Test